If you are a Texas resident and you own a motor vehicle you will need to transfer the title and renew registration. When purchasing a motor vehicle there are a
You're responsible for transferring ownership of a vehicle into your name within 21 business days of purchasing it from a private party, out of state dealership, and or if you receive the vehicle as a gift. To transfer a motor vehicle title in your name you will need the vehicle Certificate of Ownership (title), insurance, and a valid ID. The seller must release ownership by signing in the appropriate place on the title. If there are multiple owners everyone listed on the title must sign it. To transfer a motor vehicle title in the state of Texas must provide a government issued ID. Acceptable forms of ID include a valid state ID or DL, valid US passport or Foreign passport, and or a military ID. Texans who buy a used vehicle from anyone other than a licensed vehicle dealer are required to pay motor vehicle sales tax of 6.25 percent on the purchase price or standard presumptive value (SPV), whichever is the highest value.
SPV applies wherever you buy the vehicle, in Texas or out of state. A vehicle's SPV is its worth based on similar sales in the Texas region. The Texas Legislature passed the law in 2009 to raise additional revenue to fund Texas schools. Price Digests, the national guide that provides the values, uses an average wholesale used vehicle value based on Texas sales data. In order to determine the sales tax amount for the title transfer you will need to provide the VIN number and the miles if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. If you paid less than the standard presumptive value for your vehicle, you may pay sales taxes on an appraisal amount provided it is certified by a licensed insurance adjuster or a licensed motor vehicle dealer; and obtained within 20 working days of the date of purchase. We are also certified appraisers and can lower the value of the vehicle and the appraisal is recognized by the state of Texas. If the vehicle you purchased is 25 years or more there is no presumptive value in the system. Texas will then charge sales tax based on the purchase price. If the vehicle is custom built or a trailer you will also pay sales tax on the purchase price. ATV's, UTV's and dirt bikes are not subject to motor vehicle sales tax since they are not street legal. Call Houston Texans auto title service for assistance with your title transfer at 281-901-7909.